What are Sacraments?

Sacraments are God-given gifts to the Church, it is a saving grace instituted by Christ for his people to be united with God the Father.
Sacraments are important to Catholics because in every sacrament you move closer to God, each of which is a ladder that leads to the Heavenly Father. It is also in sacraments where you profess your faith in Christ as your God and your savior whom sacraments are authored. In order for us to fully understand how important sacraments to the Catholics are we take notes on what the Catholic Church’s position or stand with respect to the sacraments.  Sacraments as what have stated in the Council of Trent:  "If anyone say that the sacraments of the New Law do not contain the grace which they signify, or that they do not confer grace on those who place no obstacle to the same, let him be anathema" (Sess. viii, "If anyone says that grace is not conferred by the sacraments ex opera operator but that faith in God's promises is alone sufficient for obtaining grace, let him be anathema" Sacraments are important to Catholics because each sacrament signifies the grace of God. 

The Catechism of the Catholic Church defines sacraments as: 

The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us. The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament. They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions. CCC1131 The fruit of sacramental life is both personal and ecclesial. For every one of the faithful, on the one hand, this fruit is life for God in Christ Jesus; for the Church, on the other, it is an increase in charity and in her mission of witness. CCC1134

 What are these Sacraments? 

Sacrament is classified into three Categories mainly Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Eucharist, Confirmation -          Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Communion are the three primary sacraments in which the rest of our Christian life depends on. Baptism is the initiation rites that helps us enter the Church and cleanse us from the original sin that entered through our first parents. Confirmation (Christmate) is the completion of Baptism, and it gives us the grace to live our life as a Christian bravely and without disgrace. The Holy Communion is the last of the sacraments of initiation. It is in here where we can now receive Christ through the Holy Eucharist, uniting us more closely to Him and help us grow in grace as a Christian. 

Sacraments of Healing:  Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick. 

-     The Sacrament of Reconciliation, also known as Penance or Confession, is that moment of grace whereby one receives the forgiveness for sin won by Jesus Christ on the cross. Those who approach the sacrament of Reconciliation obtain pardon from God's mercy for the offense committed against him, and are, at the same time, reconciled with the Church which they have wounded by their sins and which by charity, by example, and by prayer labors for their conversion. CCC 1422 

-      By the sacred anointing of the sick and the prayer of the priests, the whole Church commends those who are ill to the suffering and glorified Lord, that he may raise them up and save them. And indeed she exhorts them to contribute to the good of the People of God by freely uniting themselves to the Passion and death of Christ. CCC 1499 

Sacraments in the of service of Communion: Marriage, Holy Orders 

-       Two other sacraments, Holy Orders and Matrimony, are directed towards the salvation of others; if they contribute as well to personal salvation, it is through service to others that they do so. They confer a particular mission in the Church and serve to build up the People of God. CCC 1533 and 1534 

-     Through these sacraments, those already consecrated by Baptism and Confirmation for the common priesthood of all the faithful can receive particular consecrations. Those who receive the sacrament of Holy Orders are consecrated in Christ's name "to feed the Church by the word and grace of God." CCC 1535

 -      These are the last of the sacraments Marriage and Holy Orders, if a  certain Christian has entered the sacrament of marriage, that individual could no longer go into the sacrament of Holy orders as it only reserves those who wants to serve Christ through Religious order such as Bishop, priest, deacons and nuns.

Kent Emmanuel Magdugo

No comments: